Strength through Weakness

1 May

This poem was found on the body of an unknown soldier, killed at the battle of Gettysburg during the American Civil War of 1863. 

  

 I asked for strength, that I might achieve,
He made me weak that I might learn
humbly to obey…
I asked for health, that I might do greater things,
I was given infirmity, that I might do
better things …
I asked for riches, that I might be happy,
I was given poverty, that I might be wise …
I asked for power, that I might have the praise of men,
I was given weakness that I might feel
the need of God …
I asked for all things, that I might enjoy life,
I was given life, that I may enjoy all things …
I got nothing that I asked for, but everything that I had hoped for,
Almost despite myself, my unspoken prayers were answered,
I am among all men, most richly blessed.
 

  

How eloquently this speaks to us today. It makes us realise it’s easy to be thankful for the good things, but that rich fulfilment in life comes to those who are also thankful for their setbacks. 

It’s the difficult times that challenge us, stretch us and allow to grow. Take courage then and turn your troubles in to blessings. 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Responses to “Strength through Weakness”

  1. lazfreedman May 2, 2010 at 2:14 am #

    This is heavy,
    so old,

    Thanks,

    Peace,
    Laz

    • Atticus May 6, 2010 at 2:26 am #

      Hey Laz,
      Glad you like it, and thanks for your comment.
      Hope you find whatever inspiration from it : )
      All the best

      • Sentinel May 29, 2010 at 1:18 am #

        I certainly got some inspiration from that!

Leave a Reply

